PnP TerrainCreator - Forum

The PnP TerrainCreator Forum
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 3:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Brush Parameter Presets
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 6:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:35 am
Posts: 4
Location: Australia
Working on a terrain last night, I came up with a feature to improve the speed of workflow.The ability to create, save and load tool parameter presets (the parameters for brush size, gradient, shape, etc.) would save a lot of time rather than changing back parameters back and forth while working with large mountains and small refinements. It'd be great, selecting the Preset 'Large Mountains' to make large changes, then setting it to 'Slight Bumps' to refine and sculpt small changes.

What do you think?

_________________
..:: Shadow Wrath ::..
Shadowriven Project Leader / Programmer
ShadowShift Games


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:16 am 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 892
Location: Braunschweig
Sounds useful, for sure. But I'll have to think about it, because the parameters are completely managed by the plugins and not by the main program. So it is not so easy to implement in short term as it might sound.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brush Parameter Presets
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 5:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 6:49 pm
Posts: 5
Well, since my idea is like this one, i think i'm gonna post it here, sorry if I make someone angry or something.

Well my idea was, that you could use like small heightmaps as brushes, that you draw like something in paint, then use it as a brush, so that when you move you mouse, your map get repeated every time, whith an interval that can be determined by the user.

Hope this helps..

Isocadia


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Brush Parameter Presets
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 8:59 am 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 892
Location: Braunschweig
Nice idea, but how can this be used practically?

If you use it in heightmap edit mode, you could control a factor to be multiplied with the pattern to change the height, while moving the mouse up and down.
But if you applie the same brush to another vertex, the pattern will move too and maybe overlap with the first application of this brush. And in the end this will look very bad I think.

The same problem arises, if you use this brush in filtering edit mode.

The problem is, you cannot move the brush pattern freely. Any practical idea for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron