PnP TerrainCreator - Forum

The PnP TerrainCreator Forum
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:45 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DDS mip maps
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:41 pm
Posts: 38
It would be nice to be able to select how many mipmaps are created when exporting .DDS textures or even be able to have none at all.

I understand all about mip maps but sometimes its nice to have that bit of control as sometimes its nice to force a given resolution for a certain purpose.

Great work guys


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 2:12 pm 
Would it be sufficient for you to have an additional check box "generate mip maps" in the export options? Or do you really need to specify a number between "complete mip map chain" and "no mip maps"?

No sure, how 3dimpact loads textures. If it uses the default DX behaviour for loading textures, it will create the whole mip map chain during loading. In which case you will have the same result as if you store the mip maps in the .dds file.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:41 pm
Posts: 38
Hi Having the option for no mip maps would be fine.

In 3impact (which wraps directx) you have the option to not generate mip maps for a given texture resource when loaded.

Its not a big issue but it would be usefull.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:35 pm 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 891
Location: Braunschweig
If 3impact is mostly a DX wrapper, it can surely load other texture file formats like .png, is this right? So could simply use .png (which has no mip maps) for the textures and tell 3impact not to create mip maps during loading?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:41 pm
Posts: 38
I may have misunderstood but i thought any kind of image gets mipped when loaded by default?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:36 am 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 891
Location: Braunschweig
Yes but you said, you can turn this behaviour off in 3impact. So if you load a .png file into a DX texture object and don't use the default value for mip map generation but specify to generate 1 mip map level, you will only have the original bitmap resolution.

so for 3impact:
call iTextureMipLevelsSet(1) before loading the texture.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: