PnP TerrainCreator - Forum

The PnP TerrainCreator Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:52 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Export B3D?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 1:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:50 am
Posts: 2
don't I get to export for b3d created a land with section 1x1 and the options is incapacitated to export, am I using the version FREE, as I do to export?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:29 am 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 891
Location: Braunschweig
You cannot export while you have opened a sector in detail edit mode. Close the sector to switch back to the whole terrain overview map. Then you can select the menu "file -> export" or use the sector's context menu with the right mouse button to export it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 07, 2006 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:50 am
Posts: 2
I got to export, thank you very much.

One more question:
When do I export for the blitz3d, which is the scale that I should use for not putting upon the meshes?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:56 pm 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 891
Location: Braunschweig
Well you should use a "patch size" of 32 or 64, so Blitz3D can manage reading them.

For the "scaling factor" you have to test on your own what looks good in your target engine. Start with a terrain at height 0 with a single small hill on it. Use different scaling factors until it looks right. If you know how your engine converts the units in the mesh files to metrical units, you can use that factor.

One cannot say in general, what the right sacling factor is, because it depends on the viewing matrix which scaling factor looks good. And if you have a physic simulation you have to make sure that you use the correct scaling for it too.

TC uses a scaling factor of 100. For a Blitz3D test I made a while back I thought 10 looks good. But I don't know if thats the right value for you too.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron