PnP TerrainCreator - Forum

The PnP TerrainCreator Forum
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:53 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Which 3d-engine do you use?
Ogre 19%  19%  [ 6 ]
Truevision 13%  13%  [ 4 ]
Blitz 3%  3%  [ 1 ]
Gamemaker 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Torque 10%  10%  [ 3 ]
Unreal 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Quake/Doom3 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
another one 35%  35%  [ 11 ]
my own 10%  10%  [ 3 ]
Irrlicht 10%  10%  [ 3 ]
Total votes : 31
Author Message
 Post subject: Using Blitz basic
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:39 pm
Posts: 1
I use blitz3d and am on the lookout for a good terrain generator.

I am specifikaly looking for one that can handle huge terrains and where I can automate as much as possible, ex: Defining textures for altitude and degree of slope and maybe have som extra randomness.

I want to be able to generate a VERY large terrain that will be loaded in chunks.

I like the solution in PE where you can walk anywhere on the map without visible transitions.

The problem is that creating such a terrain by manualy painting is far to much work. Best of all is if it could be able to start by generating a master terrain and then split it into smaller pieces and then add extra detail while making sure the borders match.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 1:20 pm 
Offline
Programmierdochfix
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 12:53 pm
Posts: 891
Location: Braunschweig
Hi David,
welcome and thanks for your post.

1. Are you sure, you can handle large terrains with Blitz3D and effciently load patches at runtime? As much as I've learnt from our users about Blitz3D this is a problem.

2. You can apply texture attributes with randomness within TC. And TC can automatically apply textures based on height and slope and sector specific probabilities (randomness)

3. TC was build to handle large terrains and devide it into smaller patches/sectors. TC was originally intended to be an editor for a VERY large MMORPG.

4. What is PE?

5. Yes, I mentioned it earlier in this forum, automated generation is not yet our strength. We have plans to improve it but don't expect significant changes this year. The Overviewmap/Detailmap architecture of TC is as you described: define everything on a large map and afterwards define the details. But this can and will surely be optimized in the future.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:35 pm
Posts: 9
hi,

we are using OpenScenGraph for rendering and scenegraph management. our complete platform consists of several other software libraries though. just to enum some:

OpenSceneGraph (see above)
Newton (physics)
CEGUI (2d stuff such as menu and huds)
ReplicaNet (networking)
Cal3d (character animation)
OpenAL (sound)

cheers
boto


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 5:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:41 pm
Posts: 38
Using 3impact www.3impact.com

Pit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 7:39 am
Posts: 105
Could I beg and grovel for Collada 1.4 support :) ... The C4 engine...

Doom3 quality for $100 ...can't go wrong :) just it's terrain is..well..there is no terrain :)

K


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:18 pm
Posts: 142
Location: Northern California
Experimenting with 3dGameStudio, but I am checking out C4 and WildMagic (and 3dWordStudio's when it becomes available).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: which 3D engine are you using?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:31 am
Posts: 28
I am using Shiva 3D, import in TIFF and gif.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: which 3D engine are you using?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:51 am
Posts: 1
the Quake/Doom3 is the best in all, is some one try this one here, i am using this, and i will recommend this to all of my friends

_________________
DAE Result


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: which 3D engine are you using?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2013 4:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:39 am
Posts: 6
I am a newbie here, but I have worked for years with image processing. As for myself, I like to used some fine 3rd party tool to help me with my work dealing with the Tiff processing and Gif processing. It can make my work much more convenient. And especially the one whose way of processing is simple and fast can save a lot of time for me. It is just one of many but I do love it because it is manual. Share with you. And I hope you success. Good luck.



Best regards,
Arron

_________________
Best Regards,
Arron



Next Tomorrow is Another Day.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: which 3D engine are you using?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:59 pm
Posts: 1
Wow, i just stumbled about this tool after several years working with terains in the rv game engine (real virtuality, operation flashpoint, arma, a3 ect.

I didnt had the time to check it out that much yet, but if its capable of that stuff that is usefull for rv terrains its a lifechanging tool.

RV engine basicly works with small and huge terrains from several to hundrets of square kilometers of world size and an incredible level of detail.

What most needed is a working road tool to import shapefiles to smooth and adjust terrain below roads, its a pain to do that inside the given tools from the rv engine.

Cant wait to try it out more and give more feedback.

see you soon


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron